top of page

Burmese Samusa Soup

Updated: Jun 21, 2021

Once I managed to source the tamarind for this recipe, it was a cinch to pull together and the opportunities for substitutions abound as far as chile peppers, légumes and vegetables go.

A hearty, warm soup is exactly what was needed on day three of freezing temperatures and howling winds 💨 .

Such a comforting, zingy soup, you will be amazed at how good it is.

This is yet another recipe from Food & Wine, yes the same magazine that shows up miraculously in the mail box once a month! And no, I don't have a subscription 🤔.

I heavily adapted this recipe (see all my substitutions below), which apparently hails from a well known Burmese restaurant in San Francisco. You can find the recipe here.

After 20 minutes on the simmer, the soup is almost ready for the Brussels


Funnily enough I didn't order tamarind paste but tamarind concentrate instead, so I used 4 tsps of that instead of mixing the paste with water. I did not use the full two quarts of vegetable stock as it seemed like a lot of liquid. I only used 1 qt of stock and then about two cups of my homemade chicken stock (otherwise it would have been vegan!). I used a few small new potatoes instead of the russet. Thinly shaved Brussel sprouts instead of cabbage, which I threw in the soup about five minutes before serving. Oh, and I didn't have black mustard seeds so I used brown instead. Also, I squeezed half a lime in the soup at the end (probably could have used about half that).Oh, and I did not top with Samosas or falafel and I didn't add the Thai red chiles/Jalapeño at the end as it was already hot enough. Oh yes, and I used green lentils. I had green, brown and red, but no yellow lentils. And lastly, I think, I didn't have roasted chickpea flour, just regular! Even with all those minor changes, I'm convinced that the underlying flavour was not disrupted too much.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page