top of page

Gambas Al Pil Pil (Al Ajillo)

Updated: Feb 28, 2021

How about a 15 minute prep meal /tapa that gives you a chance to mop up the hot, garlicky sauce with fresh sourdough (if you happen to have some on hand 😋).

I always get on a Spanish cooking kick around this time of year. So I break out all the Spanish cookbooks from Williams-Sonoma's "Savoring Spain & Portugal", to Jose Andres' "Made in Spain" & "Tapas: A Taste of Spain in America" and the classic by Penelope Casas "Tapas: The Little Dishes of Spain".

My eyes quickly fell on this easy recipe from the W-S cookbook, evoking many memories of Garlic al Ajillo in Menorca and at Cafe Sevilla in San Diego.

I timed my sourdough loaf to come out of the oven at around 7pm, just in time to do it's job on the olive oil infused sauce.

I even found the exact recipe online! I used about a quarter of a fresh hot red chili pepper instead of the red pepper flakes flakes. You can add more of everything including olive oil to get even more delicious sauce (Note to self for next time)


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page