top of page

Green Goodness Smoothie

Updated: Jul 27, 2022

After traveling around Namibia and France this spring, I vowed to return to healthier eating habits once I got home. Don't get me wrong, I love the taste of bbq'd Kudu under the African sky and I'm a huge fan of croissants for breakfast everyday, and overindulging in French cheese, pâté, duck confit, rillettes and foie gras (to name but a few), but my recent cholesterol numbers reflected the two and a half months away from home, surviving on an essentially vegetable free diet 😂!!

My new breakfast go-to was inspired by our very gracious host, Albert Mounié, from La Villa Dunois in Orléans, who was kind enough to share the recipe with me. Albert also has a food blog and is about to publish his first cook book!

I have made a few minor alterations to the recipe. For starters, the spelt and hazelnut milk that Albert uses in his smoothie is readily available in France. Alas, not so much in my neck of the (literal) woods. So I simply substituted with almond milk and ground hazelnuts.

Feel free to experiment as you see fit. The following is merely a rough guideline for a delicious and healthy smoothie.


Place the following ingredients in a blender and give it a good whirl!

8 fl oz /250ml Almond or Hazelnut milk

A handful of roasted hazelnuts (if using almond milk)

4 kiwi fruits peeled and quartered

1 tbsp Honey

2 large handfuls of baby spinach

Juice of 1/4 lime


If you use whole hazelnuts, best to sieve after blending to avoid too many "bits".

Add more nut milk or fresh squeezed orange juice if you prefer a runnier smoothie.


I am currently using the beautiful honey that Albert gives to all of his B&B guests!



23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page