top of page

Pork Chops with Sherry Pan Sauce

Updated: Apr 5, 2022

The April Food and Wine Fairy 🧚🏼 delivered my copy a few days ago and the front cover grabbed my attention immediately: "Pork Chops with Sherry Pan Sauce". The cover photo (so much better than mine), made my mouth water! And, it just so happened that we had received a 4 rib rack of Ibérico pork chops from CampoGrande just a few days earlier!



I did slightly modify the sauce quantities which you can see below and I had to make my own Ras El Hanout as I couldn't get it anywhere in SoMd😱. Oh, and we sous-vided the pork (no surprise there 😂)!

So I won't regurgitate the whole thing, just follow the Food & Wine Recipe.

For the sous-vide: Cook the pork chops from 1-5hrs at 58°C (136.4°F), then season with salt and pepper and render fat cap on edge of chops for 15 minutes in a 250°F pan (yes our GE induction stove top and precision cookware can actually regulate pan temperature) or on medium-high heat. Then proceed with step 2 in the recipe.

If you have all the sauce ingredients mis-en-place and ready to go, this doesn't take very long to pull together ≅30 minutes.



Modified Sauce Recipe for Two 8-10oz pork chops

  • 1 large shallot, finely chopped

  • 2 tsp Ras el Hanout

  • ½ cup dry sherry

  • 1 tbsp grated orange zest plus 1 cup fresh orange juice

  • 4-6 chopped prunes or dried figs

  • 1 tbsp butter

  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley or cilantro

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page