top of page

Trader Vic's Mai Tai, Kinda

I originally posted this cocktail last year and I'm revisiting with a slightly simpler version. This fab cocktail is still based on the original Mai Tai, created in the 40's at Trader Vic's, Oakland, CA, by Vic "The Trader" Bergeron. It is not to be confused with it's sweeter cousin, the Hawaiian Mai Tai, covered in the same post. This rum sour has a couple of my own twists!

I just can't resist these coupes with one large ice ball for a small pre-dinner aperitif.

I am still using Plantation Pineapple Rum, from Barbados, but skipping the Goslings rum here.

It is the Orgeat syrup that makes this drink, gives it the strikingly subtle almond flavour.

I make a rim from sugar and ground Espelette (mild) pepper. Don't use cayenne or you'll end up with burning lips.


Into a shaker with lots of ice add:

2oz Rum of your choice

1 ¼ oz Lime juice

½ oz Curaçao (Dry Curaçao or Cointreau)

½ oz Orgeat Syrup

¼ oz simple syrup

50/50 sugar/Espelette mix (or other mild, tasty ground pepper)


Shake vigourously and pour into a coupe with a large ice sphere or cube.

The biggest omission here is the mint. I don't always have fresh mint on hand or in the garden. But the cocktail is great, either way.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page