top of page

Apple Tart with Frangipane

Updated: Jan 22, 2021

Adapted from David Lebovitz's Tarte Fines Aux Pommes, this is a seriously scrumptious dessert, or dare I say breakfast pastry?

More or less following his recipe, I prepped the apples (3 small pink ladies) using my trusty apple peeler, corer, slicer. Then, veering off-piste from the recipe, I mixed the apples with 1oz of cognac, 2 tsps. sugar and a 1/2oz of lemon juice and left to marinate for about an hour, stirring occasionally.

Needless to say, I didn't make my own puff pastry 😮. I did, however, add a thin layer of frangipane over the pastry before laying out the apple slices. This adds texture and sweetness to the tart. I'll have to verify that by trying a slice before imbibing a couple of cocktails and half a bottle of wine 🥴.

I cut the puff pastry round using a 10" mixing bowl as a guide. If you don't want to have any left-over puff pastry, just use the whole rectangular sheet. If you do that you may need another apple or two.

I skipped sprinkling more sugar on top of the apples and topped with apricot jam. I also brushed with a little more melted butter after it came out of the oven (for photo appeal 😂.)


Best Tool Ever

Pink Ladies




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page