top of page

Sourdough Hot Cross Buns

Updated: May 4, 2021

I started these on Thursday evening so that they would be ready on Good Friday. Between suffering the ill effects of my second Moderna shot and the damn dough not rising in the time frame indicated, this has been a two day affair, but so worth the wait!

I used a hybrid of two recipes, one from The Clever Carrot and author of my go-to Artisan Sourdough Made Simple, and the other from Nigella Lawson (Domestic Goddess and famed English TV chef and food writer).

I used The Clever Carrot recipe for the dough and the apricot glaze, and I used Nigella's egg wash and her flour, sugar, water mix for the cross. The addition of the pearl sugar was all my idea 😂.

Naturally we couldn't wait until they cooled down.

Light, fluffy, and sourdough tangy. Butter melting. Just what the doctor ordered!




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page